Flutters

As I get older, it is harder and harder to keep fit and mobile. Along with many others I attend multiple exercise classes and get shouted at by insanely fit and wildly enthusiastic young things  who exhort us to ever more extreme forms of torture! 

One of the exercises designed to work and strengthen our abdominal muscles our Sophie joyfully calls “Flutters”. Lying on our backs with legs straight up in the air and switching legs as fast as we can. It hurts. It is not the flutters that I know and like. 

Food is often known by different names in different families, sometimes the name is purely descriptive, sometimes it trys to sound sophisticated and sometimes it just catches your imagination and gets adopted. 

When I was small I had a best friend. He lived across the road from me and I think I lived at his house as much as I did at mine. Our mum’s were good friends and would exchange babysitting. His family owned a TV (we didnt have one) and watching Dr Who was a definite incentive to go to his.  Mike would hide behind the sofa and ask me to tell him if there were any skellywobbles! (Skeletons). We lived outside a lot in classic childhood play, bikes, woodland adventures, footie with coat goal posts, or just hanging out.

The lasting memory of those days is Mikes name for what my family called “french toast” and others call “eggy bread”. Mike called it “Flutters”. And Flutters it has remained. 

I have introduced my children to flutters which is usually served with “topping” however at one stage we put an american twist on with a touch of icing sugar and maple syrup. I usually do flutters as a savory big breakfast dish and is great for stretching a couple of eggs to 3 or 4 people. 

Marys Meals uses local recipes and staples to serve to children. This has the advantage of giving children something familiar so they will eat it, but also ensures that by using local ingredients the meals are more economical, thus ensuring that more children can be fed. 

To see more about the work that Mary’s Meals does look at their website and view some amazing films which can be downloaded. 

http://www.marysmeals.org.uk

My fundraising walk to raise money for this charity is now in 3 days, if you would like to donate please go to my JustGiving page

http://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/Jo-Stenning1

Flutters 

2-3 eggs depending on size, beaten with a pinch of salt

1 slice of bread per person,white or brown, its better if it is slightly stale.

Knob of butter. 

Pour the beaten and foamy egg on to a plate, dip bread in to it so that both sides are coated.Melt butter in a frying pan and fry the dipped bread on both sides until golden. 
Topping

Chopped bacon

Chopped mushrooms

Tomatoes chopped in to rough chunks

Butter and seasoning

Melt butter in a small pan, cook bacon till crispy, add mushrooms, cook for another 2-3 minutes then add tomatoes and cook down. Season to taste. This makes a lovely gooey semi sauce to dollop on to the flutter. 

Variations: Leave out the bacon for vegetarians.

Sprinkle icing sugar on both sides once almost finished frying to caremelise the sugar and drizzle with maple syrup to serve. 

Author: familyfoodsstoriesformarysmeals

I have been a nurse and worked in many roles in the NHS for more than 30 years. I have worked in hospitals, as a midwife, as a practice nurse, a health visitor and currently back to working in general practice. I have worked across all generations and within the community. I love my work and my passion is in direct contact, giving and sharing information for people to use to make their personal choices in health. I also love food, a favourite quote is "I live to eat, not eat to live" and my way of showing my love and care has always been to cook a meal that I know family or guests would enjoy. I am married with two adult daughters who I am very proud of. I have 2 dogs who keep me aware of the passing seasons and the changes on weather every day.

Leave a comment